21 October 2020 Wed 19.00

Broadcast Venue: Borusan Music House

ESEN KIVRAK 1st violin
NİLAY SANCAR 2nd violin

BEETHOVEN String Quartet No.1 in F Major, Op.18: Adagio affettuoso ed appasionato
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No.5 in A Major, Op.18: Allegro
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No.10 in E flat Major, Op.74: Adagio ma non troppo
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No.11 in F minor, Op.95: Allegretto ma non troppo-Allegro assai ma serioso
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No.13 in B-flat Major, Op.130: Cavatina. Adagio molto espressivo
BEETHOVEN String Quartet No.14 in C-sharp minor, Op.131: Allegro

Borusan Quartet opened the season with a programme of works by Ludwig van Beethoven that are widely regarded as masterpieces of the string quartet repertoire. This programme, which has been finely selected to cover pieces from all three of the composer’s creative periods, will allow us to clearly hear how Beethoven developed his writing for the string quartet.

The concert will begin with movements from three string quartets written between 1798-1800, during Beethoven’s so-called “early compositional period”, and will be followed by movements from String Quartets No. 10 and No. 11 written in 1809-1810, during his “middle” compositional period that includes works such as the Fidelio Opera, Violin Concerto, Waldstein and Appassionata Piano Sonatas and Symphonies No. 5 through 8. The Borusan Quartet will conclude the concert by paying tribute to the composers “last” period with a section from each of Beethoven’s String Quartets No. 13 and No. 14.

Share on